the bookcase #3

 The customer is always right, right?

dry-fit for scale approval

I put a few panels of the lower cabinet together and clamped them together in order to get my customers approval regarding size and scale.  I wouldn’t normally do this but this particular customer is particularly particular about the particulars :).  (FYI: customer = wife 🙂 )

The picture shows the cabinet mock up (minus the side panels, doors, shelving and top)  Just in case she wasn’t happy with something I’m not too invested in it and changes are easer to make.  The side panels and doors will be shaker style rail & stile.  This is a piece of furniture, not a cabinet, so the sided panels will be more decorative than a cabinet.  If it were just a cabinet I’d probably just use plywood – boring… (see above).

In Jeff Branch’s Woodworking blog, my-first-full-size-mock-up, he details a mockup of a window seat bookcase he is building for his daughter in which he built a full scale mockup completely out of poster board (crazy? Yes, crazy awesome!)  Jeff is my inspiration for creating this blog to begin with.  He is an excellent craftsman – check out his site, woodworking and SketchUp work here – and follow him (not in the creepy way, but follow his bog).

the side panels look more like doors, but remember this is furniture.  the shaker style is pretty simplistic.  there is actually a slight taper to the edges of this particular shaker bit set.

enough already

If you ask my wife she might tell you that I already have enough clamps.  But if you were to ask me (or any other woodworker) you’d get quite a different answer.  You’ll see in the photos to follow I use quite a lot of them and will continue to add to my collection when I can.  It sure beats holding two pieces of wood together while the glue dries (which I have been know to do).  Now with the official “go ahead” from the boss I’ve started gluing up the side panels and bottom cabinet.  This means I’ve spent some quality time with the router table.  I invested in a better grade of router table a year or so ago and it has been worth the money (can’t say that about the coping sled I bought from the same folks (I just noticed they released an “new” version of it – wonder if they will give me my money back on the old one? 😐 ).  I do wish I’d have broken loose with a few more bucks (and a few does, maybe a fawn or two) and invested in the lift mechanism for the router.  It seems I spend a lot of time setting up the router cuts – which would be so much easier with the lift system – maybe one day when that rich uncle dies… (Wait, what?  No rich uncle, dangit!).

the leg glue up

here you can see the wood blocking used to give the leg a solid look

biscuits and gravy (…and glue)

I am a southern boy and I do love my biscuits and gravy – but that is not what we are talking about here.  Now with the front face frame, back and side panels made I can start making it look like something – something of which I don’t know – but something nonetheless.  Biscuits and glue (and lots of clamps) connect the sides to the front face frame and back together.  Biscuits not only help with strength but also alignment.  (Biscuits are little wood wafers inserted into slots cut into adjoining wood pieces.  They taste a little like stale cardboard but are better with jelly and a cold glass of milk. 🙂 )  The lower unit will be supported by legs.  The intent is to make the legs look like solid 3-1/4” solid wood stock.  (If I had made them of solid stock I’d had lost cabinet space and complicated the build.)  The photo shows the leg glue up to the lower cabinet and the solid wood glued below the cabinet to support the cabinet and give the illusion of a solid leg.  (See what I mean about clamps now?)

wait, still more room for more clamps…

 next… finish up the legs, build the top and shelf… stay tuned

Leave a Reply

